Lok Sabha accepts TDP,other opposition parties’ no-trust move against Modi government

New Delhi: For the first time since 1998, a no-confidence motion against the government was moved and accepted in the Lok Sabha on Wednesday.
Speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepted the no-confidence motion moved by the Telugu Desam Party against the Narendra Modi government on the issue of special status to Andhra Pradesh. Admitting the notice, she said the no-trust vote will be likely to be taken up in the next ten days and that date and time will be decided later
The Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party have also move no-confidence motion against the Modi government which currently enjoys majority in the Lok Sabha with over 300 seats in the 545-member House.
The Speaker named all opposition members who had moved similar no-confidence motion notices and said TDP’s Kesineni Srinivas would move his motion as his name had come up in the lottery. The TDP leaders also staged a protest in Rajya Sabha, after which the House was adjourned for a brief period.
In the meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed his hope that session will remain peaceful. But he asserted that his government was ready for debate on any issue raised by political parties. “Any party wants to raise any issue, this government is ready for a discussion,” the Prime Minister told media persons before the beginning of the session.
The Prime Minister also expressed his hope that Parliament’s functioning will be an inspiration for state assemblies in the country.
According to PRS Legislative Research, a total of 68 Bills are pending in Parliament. Of these, 25 Bills are listed for consideration and passage, and three for withdrawal during the session. 18 new Bills are listed for introduction, consideration, and passage. Worries remain if the impasse seen in the Budget session will carry over to this session. Parliament’s budget session was the least productive budget session in 18 years.
However, it was in 1998, Sonia Gandhi-led Congress had moved against the Atal Bihari Bajpayee government and it led to the fall of the government .

Leave a Comment